Bumpdate: 17 weeks

How far along:  17 weeks today!

 Size of baby: Baby is the size of a turnip, or a playstation controller.
Gender: It’s a Boy!
Exciting developmental things:  His senses of sight, smell, sound, and touch are all starting to develop.  His ears are in place on the sides of his head and he has started hearing us.  He can sense whether it is light or dark outside of my belly too.
Doctor’s Appointments: We had a doctor’s appointment for bloodwork and a Doppler on Monday. Everything is great and bloodwork came back just fine.  No markers for spina bifida or any other neural  tube defect.
Weight Gain:  Only up 8 pounds so far.
Stretch Marks:  None so far!
Movement:  I should start feeling movement between now and 20 weeks.
How I’m Feeling: Both me and TJ had a cold this week so it’s been a rough week for everyone.  Lots of sleeping and rest.
Miss Anything?:  I don’t really miss anything yet.
Sleep:  I can sleep like a champ if baby sleeps like his mama we’ll be set.
Food:  Still don’t want a whole lot of pork.  Not really craving anything except vegetables with vinegar and salt.  I used to eat carrots or lettuce with vinegar and salt every night when I was in high school and it seems to have returned.  Although, I’ve added radishes to the mix, and I’ve never had a radish in my life until Tuesday.  Also killing some cucumbers.
Workouts:  Hopefully with the time changing this weekend, it will make our walks more frequent.
Clothes: Still wearing my dress pants from before we got pregnant. And, other than that it’s mostly leggings and dresses.  I can’t wait until warm weather.
Baby Items:  Bought the car seat and the bases this past week, although they’re at mom’s and since we’ve been sick we still haven’t been over to get them or look at them.  I also bought him a few new outfits since we found out it’s a boy!
Best Moment This Week: Being pregnant while sick, and knowing that he’s not feeling any of it is a blessing.
Looking Forward To:  Now, I’m just looking forward to movement and our anatomy scan in a few weeks to see how big he’s gotten since our last ultrasound.
One thought on “Bumpdate: 17 weeks

  1. Ah the movement. That’s such an awesome feeling.
    I remember (years ago) pregnancy was great for me. Its when I felt the most healthy. I got lots of sleep, felt good and didn’t get a single stretch mark.
    blessings
    Lisa

    Like

Leave a Reply

